£35 VS £6.99 : The Drug Store WAR!

If you’re a student like me or perpetually on a tight budget then you’ll know the joy of finding a drug store product that works as well as a high end beauty product. I was always of the opinion that foundations need to be high end since you’re paying for quality and if you’re putting something on your face you’d rather pay more and get good quality than a cheap product.

But oh boy was I wrong?!

I stumbled across the MAYBELLINE FIT me Matte + Poreless foundation on various Instagram and YouTube channels and decided to try it out for myself. My face being super oily and with massive pores, this Maybelline foundation seemed to be God sent for me!

foundation 2

As for the high end foundation I decided to try the DIOR FOREVER foundation, a big hit amongst lots of Instagram beauty gurus and YouTubers. Being a sucker for their uhhmazing perfumes and their previous DIOR STAR foundation I decided to give this one a try as well!

foundation 1

Read below to see the comparison between both and decide if you really want to dish out those £30+ for the DIOR foundation!

final

DIOR MAYBELLINE
£35 AT BOOTS PRICE £6.99 AT BOOTS
LUXURIOUS MATTE GLASS BOTTLE PACKAGING PLASTIC TUBE WITH A BLACK CAP
30ML VOLUME 30ML
NOT TOO THICK NOT TOO RUNNY TEXTURE NOT TOO THICK NOT TOO RUNNY
LUMINOUS MATTE FINISH FINISH MATTE FINISH BUT NOT OVERDRYING OR POWDERY
MEDIUM COVERAGE MEDIUM TO FULL (BUILDABLE)
YES!! OXIDATION NOT AT ALL!
STARTS WEARING OFF AROUND THE T ZONE AFTER A FEW HOURS LASTING POWER STAYS ON FOR 5+ HOURS WITH THE OCCASIONAL USE OF OIL BLOTTING SHEETS

What I look for in foundations is how long they last without needing a touch up and most importantly if they oxidise or not. The DIOR FOREVER (http://www.boots.com/dior-diorskin-forever-fluid-foundation-spf35-30ml) seemed to disappoint me in both these categories. It oxidises enough to make me look like a have a bad case of a fake tan and it does seem to come off from the T-zone leaving behind patchy looking skin of two different shades! DIOR gets points for the satiny-matte finish that it gives after application unlike the drug store counterpart.

Processed with MOLDIV
DIOR FOREVER – 030

The Maybelline FIT ME on the other hand seamlessly hides my pores and leaves a matte finish. Its matte in its truest form. You definitely need a wet sponge to apply it and a heavy dose of MAC Fix+ at the end to bring it altogether. For combination/oily skin and humid weather conditions this works perfectly well. MAC Fix+ has been a life changer for me since I have started using it a few months ago. It makes the make up look extremely natural and smooth.

IMG_0734
MAYBELLINE FIT ME – 128 WARM NUDE

The sheer coverage and luminous matte finish works for me on days I have good skin and relatively less issues to hide but generally my go-to is the Maybelline FIT ME and given the price tag its a sure win win for me! I’m already on my second tube and thinking of buying some extra just in case they ever run out of them!

With over 20 shades to choose from, you are bound to find something that FITS you! Maybelline FIT ME is readily available at BOOTS and SUPERDRUG in England and in big stores like VICKYS, SCENSATION and AGHAS in Karachi. The Maybelline kiosk in Dolmen Mall Clifton is always well stocked with their products and you are highly likely to find the products you’re looking for.

DROP IN YOUR COMMENTS IF YOU HAVE USED EITHER OF THESE AND LET ME KNOW WHAT WORKS FOR YOU BEST! ❤

Signing Out

InYourFace

xoxo

cropped-13383747_10157092863450492_1965518444_o1.jpg

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

17 comments

  1. Amazing! Personally I feel like you looked way better in the maybelline FITme foundation as compared to the Dior one… so good job on finding that dupe 👍🏽 I am going to try this one for myself too, because clearly you proved that expensive products don’t necessarily mean they’ll work for you (unfortunately, I like to feel fancy but a lot of high end products have let me down too :p) also, LOVE the new layout!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lovely description 🙂
      I second your opinion. i started using it on your recommendation and m loving it.
      I compared it with Estee Lauder as well and found it better.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m so glad it worked for you!! Estee lauder is almost 4 times the price of the Maybelline one and one cant buy it again and again! I like the cheaper option waybetter!

        Like

    • Thank you so much!!! Yes a lot of high end products do eventually let us down. Keep an eye out for my next post about two of my favourite brands but disappointing products! And both caused a huge dent in my pocket for sure </3 !

      Like

    • Thank you so much!

      Yes sure, let me do some research on it and try products on people with dry skin then will do haha!

      In the meantime something that would give you a nice luminous finish would be the NARS sheer glow foundation, something from the DIOR line for sure (since all the foundations I have tried by them have been quite nice and satiny but not too good for my oily skin) – and one more thing that really helps is
      1) a thoroughly wet (squeezed out obvs) beauty blender instead of a brush. Bouncy motion instead of strokes. Takes a while and your hand does end up hurting eventually but it really gives a nice even smooth finish
      2) MAC fix+ spray!! It really helps bringing the entire face together and gives a nice glow. I feel my make up routine and looks have changed a lot since I have started using that. Start with a small travel size bottle and see how that works for you!
      3) Mix liquid highlighter in your foundation. I do that very regularly and the results are amazing. I use the benefit sunbeam – it has a gorgeous gold colour to it. High beam is more pinkish silver so depends what colour you want over all!
      4) MAC strobe cream or an illuminating primer should work too!!

      Hope this helps! Thank you for reading and supporting, as always ❤

      Like

  2. Very well written!!!
    I also felt the same as I am paying more so the coverage and quality both will be good as compared to the cheaper option..I haven’t tried MaybellineFITME but have been using Maybelline super stay and age rewind..both are better than the D&G foundation and concealer ..will try this one too and let you know🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Yes sometimes cheaper drugstore options are actually better than the expensive brands! Maybelline is definitely one of the top drugstore brands along with Loreal and Rimmel! Do try and let me know how it goes for you x

      Like

  3. Uhhh haaaa, hmmmm , we use so many words to admire someone,
    that face can still do justic even if you wash it off….
    Well i am already applying that foundation in my dreams on my damaged nose tip.
    Opps …Drop…..

    Keep it up

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ok first off , love the background! Secondly, we’re always so invested in buying high end products and for me, atleast, most of them have ended up disappointing me! I love trying out drugstore products because they don’t cause a dent in your wallet! I absolutely love how you’ve compared the two foundations above! Can’t wait to get my hands on Maybelline fit me! Currently Im using Luscious cosmetics foundation stick! And it does wonders in slightly less humid weather! But with the humidty we have nowadays, Im hoping Maybelline fit me foundation wont be a let down for me! Keep it up! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!! Yes, do try the maybelline FIT ME foundation, its definitely a winner. And I feel liquid is always better for this weather since stick can be a bit cakey and pasty. I’m going to try the luscious stick foundation for sure. Heard a lot about it and your foundation is always fab ❤

      Like

  5. I am definitely gonna try the foundation you recommended. Being a student as well, one is always looking for cheap and effective options.
    P.s. I love your writing style.

    Keep sharing and keep posting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] Maybelline Fit Me Foundation : This needs no introduction. Currently using my 3rd tube and itching to get another one! This is perfect for the horrid humid weather of Karachi and most importantly doesn’t oxidise unlike a lot of other mattifying foundations. It works well on covering pores and comes in a huge range of shades to choose from. Refer to my previous post for more details about it : https://inyourfacebymaleeha.wordpress.com/2017/06/07/35-vs-6-99-the-drug-store-war/ […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

