MultiMasking or MultiTasking?

Hi, all! The L’Oreal Pure Clay Masks have been making huge waves in the skin care industry lately. From super cute and colourful selfies to the trending #ClayYourWay hashtag, they have made masks meant for everyone and every need!

IMG_1794

Here I am trying to act all cute and pretending to be… Cat Woman? Wonder Woman? L’Oreal Woman? I don’t know, you decide for yourself! Looks like L’Oreal got some inspo by Wonder Woman while deciding their colours for the masks it seems. And can we all take two minutes and appreciate just how cute my T shirt from Primark is?! God, I love that place!

BeFunky Collage6

The use of clay for therapeutic and cosmetic purposes dates back to somewhere around 60 BC. Clay, largely being made of minerals was used for treating gastrointestinal ailments, dermatological issues, accelerating wound healing and much more. The anti-inflammatory properties and the ability to draw out impurities to the surface of the skin have helped clay make its mark in the beauty industry. The presence of abundant minerals helps balance the microbial flora of the skin, therefore leading to a drastic reduction in infections and such.

Coming to the L’Oreal Pure Clay Masks, these are made targeting different skin issues in all skin types. Being a sucker for skin care and especially masks, I decided to give them a shot. I bought the charcoal mask first and then I had to go back and buy more since it definitely did what it claimed and the price point is absolutely fabulous compared to high-end masks, such as the Glam Glow products! These are apparently supposed to be dupes of the GG masks!

First up,

  • L’Oreal Paris Pure Clay Bright Face Mask IMG_1787

    This one has to be my favourite from all the masks! With 3 Pure Clays and Lemon extracts, this one really brightens up the skin. Lemon has long been known for its lightening (bleaching) properties and hence is part of majority of the home-based totkas (advice) meant for reducing tan or getting rid of old acne scars and dark spots. Given my horrible ugly tan, that hasn’t gone away in months, this has definitely helped reduce it. The mask goes on super smoothly and my favourite part is the exfoliating nature of the product. I leave it on for 10-30 mins (a big range because sometimes I leave it on for ages and just forget about it haha!) and wash it off gently with luke warm tap water, making sure I rub in circular motions to get the maximum benefit out of its exfoliating particles. I use this about 2-3 times a week and really loving it so far!

  • L’Oreal Paris Pure Clay Detox MaskIMG_1788

    Charcoal is nothing new when it comes to face masks, it is almost a staple ingredient in every product that says it ‘removes impurities from your face’. Besides its known 10382084802 benefits, based on research and anecdotal events, it really truly does work! With its ability to bind to ‘impurities’, it sucks them all out leaving cleaner and tighter skin with visibly shrunken pores. The open pores are basically your normal pores filled with tons of gunk so applying a charcoal mask on top of them not only draws out the mess you’ve been carrying with you but instead works on reducing them in size too. The L’Oreal clay mask does pretty much the same too. After applying it all over my face (focusing heavily on my T-Zone and areas around my nose) for about 10-15 minutes I really felt my skin become tighter and cleaner. I switch this mask around with my Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask which I feel is a lot more aggressive in terms of cleaning out the skin but it definitely leaves the skin drier than the L’Oreal one. All in all this one’s a winner and definitely here to stay and this surely is a dupe of the GlamGlow (mad expensive) clay mask which dried up my skin like crazy.

  • L’Oreal Paris Pure Clay Blemish Rescue IMG_1789

    Ladies, STOP! Let’s get our facts right first. And yes, of course, gents too! Do not believe everything that the brand claims to do and do not expect every product to work the same way for you as it does for XYZ person. The reason I say this (and with so much conviction) is because I am currently writing a ginormous paper on acne scarring and hyperpigmentation and I know for a fact that getting rid of blemishes and spots is NOT that easy. It’s no joke, honey! The blemishes and spots you get after you pop a nasty zit take their own sweet time to go away and sometimes you need MEDICATION to make them go away. Masks etc will yes maybe freshen up your skin, unclog some pores yadda yadda but that doesn’t affect the pigmentation process. The pigmentation is a much much deeper issue and that is either targetted by medicines or by light/laser therapies. So yes, this mask is great if you want delicious, yummy smelling gorgeous blue colour plastered all over your face but do not expect your blemishes to disappear right away..or even after using it 10 times. Blemishes take TIME and sometimes medication but mostly always TIME! This mask sure leaves my skin feeling softer and cleaner and I love it for that, hence I use it mostly before I am going out somewhere or just when my skin is feeling exceptionally dull and lifeless. And to top it all it smells absolutely DIVINE to me!

  • L’Oreal Paris Pure Clay Glow MaskIMG_1790

    Last but not the least (from my collection, there are two more in the PURE CLAY collection) is the GLOW MASK! It’s a beautiful pinkish red coloured, super creamy and beaded texture mask which not only exfoliates but also illuminates the skin. It’s applied the same way as the rest are, left on for 10-20 mins and washed off with lukewarm tap water. It surely leaves my face feeling softer, cleaner and more radiant than before. I love using it every second or third day as it is mild enough to be used that often. The main ingredient in the mask, the Red Algae extract is known for its brightening and skin reformation properties. According to research (promise, legit research – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3564164/) marine algal compounds work effectively in inhibiting MMP (matrix metalloproteinase) which are basically the bad guys in our skin that break down collagen that holds the skin together and lead to wrinkles and premature ageing! So I’m excited to continue using this mask and see how long I can put off those nasty wrinkles! I already have these awful laugh lines which are definitely getting some Botox injected in them soon so I can stop worrying about my makeup cracking over them every now and then!

IMG_2044

The masks are readily available at Boots all over the United Kingdom, both online and in-store http://www.boots.com/search/loreal+clay+masks.

In Pakistan, they can be found at Daraz.pk here at https://www.daraz.pk/catalog/?q=loreal+clay+masks.

Hoping this post was a tad bit fun, a tad bit informative and a whole lot pretty since it took A LOT of time and effort taking those damn pictures! LOL.

Signing Out as Your Wonder Woman for today!

BeFunky Collageending

xoxo

cropped-13383747_10157092863450492_1965518444_o3.jpg

 

25 comments

    • Ahh the yellow is my fav! My face feels so clean after i use it haha!

      Thank you for dropping by and showing your support as always ❤

      Like

    • Hey Hira! The charcoal mask will probably not help reduce the acne eruptions as such (since the science behind acne is skin deep, not just on the surface) – but it will help remove dirt from the pores, which in itself is a contributing factor towards developing acne 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m using the red one currently and it’s great. This post is SO helpful because now I actually know what’s in the product and how it’s actually helping my skin!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for taking out time to read the post! Yeah, knowing whats in the products really does help! Here to answer questions, if you have any! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

